top of page
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • YouTube

'OreGairu: My Teen Romantic Comedy SNAFU' gets new OVA, to be released as a bundle to a new game

Written by: Jei Beltrano | Published on: Jan 18, 2020 at 7:00 PM PHT (GMT+8)

The Oregairu Fes. -Final- event held on Sunday has announced that Wataru Watari and Ponkan8's "My Teen Romantic Comedy Is Wrong, As I Expected (Yahari Ore no Seishun Rabukome wa Machigatteiru.)" light novel series is receiving an original video animation which takes place after the events of the third season of the manga's TV anime series adaptation. The OVA is scheduled to be released as a bundle to OreGairu's new game being developed by MAGES.

The new game titled "Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Come wa Machigatteiru. Kan" will be based on the events of the series of the same title.

The original Japanese light novel series also known as My Teen Romantic Comedy SNAFU and abbreviated as OreGairu is written by Wataru Watari and illustrated by Ponkan8. The 1st volume of the series was published on March 18, 2011 by Shogakukan under the Gagaga Bunko imprint and concluded on November 19, 2019 with its 14th volume.

It was then adapted into a manga series illustrated by Rechi Kazuki which began its serialization on September 25, 2012 in the Big Gangan magazine. It was published by Square Enix under the title "My Youth Romantic Comedy Is Wrong, As I Expected -Monologue-" with 17 tankōbon volumes published as of July 2020.

The second manga series illustrated by Naomichi Io under the title "My Youth Romantic Comedy Is Wrong, As I Expected @comic" was serialized on December 19, 2012 in Shogakukan's Monthly Sunday Gene-X magazine. The first volume was published on May 17, 2013 and as of 2020, it has been collected into 16 tankōbon volumes.

The third manga series by Yuuta Taneda was a four-panel manga serialized by Ichijinsha in the June 2013 issue of the Manga 4-koma Palette magazine released on April 22, 2013. It was under the titled "Yahari 4-koma demo Ore no Seishun Rabu Kome wa machigatteiru." and was collected into two tankōbon volumes which was released on June 21, 2014 and June 22, 2015, respectively.

After a year of being adapted into a manga series, the novel also inspired a TV anime series adaptation with three seasons.

The first season of the TV anime series of the same title as the novel was aired from April 5 to June 21, 2013 which consisted of 13 episodes. It was animated by animation studio Brain's Base and directed by Ai Yoshimura with an additional anime-original episode with writing by Wataru Watari following the series on June 27, 2013.

The main cast includes Takuya Eguchi as Hachiman Hikigaya, Saori Hayami as Yukino Yukinoshita, Nao Tōyama as Yui Yuigahama.

The second season under the title "Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Come wa Machigatteiru. Zoku" was aired from April 3 to June 26, 2015 with 13 episodes. It was animated by studio FEEL and directed by Kei Oikawa. The character designs were handled by Yuichi Tanaka and the series music was composed by Shoutarou Suga. The sequel was followed by an OVA episode titled "Undoubtedly, Girls Are Made of Sugar, Spice, and Something Nice" was released on October 27, 2016 as a bundle to a limited edition of the second video game.

The third and final season under the title "Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Come wa Machigatteiru. Kan" was aired from July 9 to September 24, 2020 which consisted of 12 episodes. The series production, staff and cast reprised their roles except for Keiichirou Oochi replacing Suga as series composer. The final season was originally scheduled to premiere on April 9, 2020 but was later delayed to Summer 2020 due to the effects of the novel coronavirus disease (COVID-19).

The series was also adapted into two video games for Playstation Vita and later on the Playstation 4.

The series follows Hachiman Hikigaya, a pessimistic, closeminded, and realistic teen, who is forced by his teacher to join the school's service club and work with two girls with issues of their own. They offer help and advice to others while dealing with their inner conflicts.


Source: OreGairu Fes -The Final- event, MoCa News


bottom of page